thirsty thursday | july 17th

july 17th-01

“Find something that makes you happy and use it to make others happy!”

You know what this reminds me of?

“And calling to him a child, he put him in the midst of them and said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

– Matthew 18:2-4 ESV

Amen? Amen!

I was a nanny all through college & boy oh boy did I get so much joy from watching those kiddos. I made sure to show it too! Every day when I got there they knew miss alaina  was there & it was time to have some fun. We would play, we would bake, we would go on adventures, but my favorite of all was teaching them through my actions to be gentle & kind at all times. I would put myself in their shoes & treat them with the respect & love I would want to receive. The best part about showing them love & respect was seeing them apply it to their actions & then looking towards me & asking me “you happy laina?!?”  with the biggest grin on their face and an even bigger one on mine!

Multiply the joy they had by 100 & that might ,just might be on the level of joy I was getting from watching them.

I’m no longer a nanny &  yes those days are missed, but I look forward to the days I’ll have with my own children, if God chooses to bless me with them, to teach them & to learn from them, but most importantly to have found a happiness to make other’s happy.

What about you? What makes you happy & does it help make other’s happy too? I really would love to hear!!

leave a comment

