thirsty thursday | january 16th

20140116-102959.jpg

Isn’t this the truth? I have to remind myself all the time that God’s plan is bigger and BETTER than mine.

My husband and I worked at the same company and last July we were both laid off, we never expected something like this to happen and definitely were not prepared. All our savings for a home were about to be blown through, just for living expenses. Around the same time my dad and Kolin were working on my parents “back house” to convert it into a bonus room, little did we know that this would shortly become our studio apartment.

Before we were even let go from our previous jobs, my parents asked us if we wanted to move in there to save money for a house. I quickly rejected the idea without even thinking twice. Now before I go further, I have to let you know how much I LOVE my family, but the thought of being right there all day everyday just did not sound appealing to me. I had never been a prideful person until that question was asked and not even a week later my pride was shattered when we found ourself jobless and having to pay $3,000 a month in just bills alone.

Que the “‘mom, dad…help! Phone call.”

I am so very thankful for my parents being so gracious enough to allow us to live practically rent free and you know what? It truly isn’t as bad as I imagined it would be to live with parents, we know this is only temporary and that things are the way they are for a reason!

By the grace of God, Kolin was provided with work and I began this here blog and my etsy shop! Which has been so much fun!!! I love it! These provisions have been the biggest blessings. If neither of us were laid off, we would have never been where we are now. I would have never pursued a career making crafts/selling my design work (crazy, because I LOVE every single order I get) and Kolin wouldn’t be working for such an awesome and God loving company.

Things haven’t been quite the same as last year and at times it isn’t easy, but He has provided for us in ways we cannot explain and we are shown His unconditional love for us on a daily basis.

So don’t forget that things are the way they are for a reason and sometimes it better that way!

4 thoughts on “thirsty thursday | january 16th

  1. This was actually really good for me to read. Zachariah and I just decided to move into his parents house to help us “get ahead” and its really been breaking my heart to have to think of moving out of our first apartment together. Trying to stay joyful in the midst of this transition is pretty challenging. I’m also trying to keep the perspective that the move will give me more opportunities to work on Make+Do and get to know my inlaws better…

    thanks for sharing! xo, Brittan

  2. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark
    your blog and may come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage one to continue your great work, have a nice holiday
    weekend!

  3. I neeԁed to thаnk youu forr tɦis wonderful read!!
    I absolutely enjoyed еveгy bbit of it. I’ve got you saved
    as a favorite tο check out new stuff you post…

leave a comment

